Four KKR players including Andre Russell and Sunil Narine join MLC side Los Angeles Knight Riders

KKR quartet Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Lockie Ferguson and Jason Roy have been roped in for the MLC team Los Angeles Knight Riders for the inaugural season.

Jason Roy had relinquished his England contract recently to play for the Knight Riders in the MLC. Roy, who was roped in as a replacement player in the IPL 2023 by KKR will be joined by Kiwi pacer Lockie Ferguson.

Ferguson was traded in by KKR for the IPL 2023 season and despite a dismal season, the Knight Riders have kept faith in the Blackcaps pacer for MLC.

West Indies duo Sunil Narine and Andre Russell also continue their long-standing association with the Knight Riders. Both Russell and Narine also play for Trinbago Knight Riders in CPL and Abu Dhabi Knight Riders in ILT20 of UAE.

“We have assembled a strong and talented team for the debut season of MLC, who can compete at the highest level and bring joy to cricket fans around the world,” the Knight Riders CEO Venky Mysore said in a statement.

Apart from the familiar quartet, LAKR have also roped in Adam Zampa, Rilee Rossouw and Martin Guptill as their high-profile international signings. Australian leg-spinner Zampa plays for Rajasthan Royals in IPL, whereas South African batter Rossouw plies his trade with Delhi Capitals.

Former India under-19 captain Unmukt Chand and USA duo Jaskaran Malhotra, Ali Khan are also in the LAKR team. Among the trio, Ali Khan has played for Trinbago Knight Riders and was included in the KKR team once, whereas Malhotra is one of the four players to hit six sixes in an international cricket match.

MLC 2023 will be a six-team tournament and the inaugural season will be played from July 13 to July 30 at the Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas, Texas.

Source link

Leave a Comment