India record fourth straight defeat in ICC Finals – Check Out the Complete List!

India had a dismal outing at the Oval in the title decider as they were beaten by a mammoth 209 runs. The star-studded Indian team collapsed yet again at a big ICC final.

The loss in this WTC means India now have lost four ICC finals in a row. In the illustrious history of this nation in cricket, this is the worst run when it comes to ICC finals.

WTC Final 2023

India suffered a disappointing loss in this final against Australia. This is also India’s second consecutive WTC Final loss. India suffered a poor outing in the Test match and ended up losing the match by 209 runs. Ajinkya Rahane had a good outing with the bat whereas Mohammed Siraj and Ravindra Jadeja also played well.

Result: Lost by 209 runs

India Captain: Rohit Sharma

WTC Final 2021

India played in the 2021 WTC Final against New Zealand. The final was played in Southampton and a star-studded Indian team failed to perform at their usual level. In the second innings, India suffered a major batting collapse and the Kiwis ended up winning the match by 8 wickets.

Result: Lost by 8 wickets

India Captain: Virat Kohli

Champions Trophy 2017

This defeat is perhaps India’s most painful one in history. It was a blockbuster clash between India and Pakistan, and the neighbours came away victorious for the first time in a big event against India.

They scored 338 runs courtesy of a Fakhar Zaman century, and India were bowled out for a mere 158 runs. Hardik Pandya was the sole warrior, scoring 76 runs off 43 balls as stalwarts like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh and MS Dhoni faltered in the big game.

Result: Lost by 180 runs

India Captain: Virat Kohli

T20 World Cup 2014

India’s solitary ICC Final defeat under the stewardship of MS Dhoni came in this one. In the Final at the Sher e Bangla stadium in Dhaka, India could manage only 130 runs after batting. Virat Kohli scored 77 runs whereas players like Yuvraj Singh (11 off 21 balls), Ajinkya Rahane (3 off 8 balls) struggled.

Sri Lanka, in reply, chased the score down with more than two overs to spare as Kumar Sangakkara and Thisara Perera starred with the bat.

Result: Lost by 6 wickets

India Captain: MS Dhoni

India have now equalled England’s record with the most ICC final losses. India’s tally now goes up to six, the same as the English team.

Source link

Leave a Comment