Thailand Open 2023: Kiran George, Lakshya Sen Reach Quarterfinals; Saina Nehwal Bows Out

The Odisha Open 2022 champion George defeated world No 26 and Malaysia Masters runner up Weng via straight games, 21-11, 21-19 in the second round match that lasted for 39 minutes on Court 2 at the Indoor Stadium Huamark.

On Wednesday (May 31), George had registered the biggest match of his career, defeating China’s world No. 9 Yu Qi in straight games to advance to the second round.

George, who will be playing in his first-ever quarterfinal at a BWF World Tour Super 500 event, will face France’s Toma Junior Popov in the last eight match on Friday (June 2).

Later, Lakshya Sen also booked a quarterfinal berth following a straight games win over fourth-seeded Li Shi Feng of China. The Indian saw of the Chinese shuttler 21-17, 21-15 in the second round match that lasted for 49 minutes.

The 21-year-old Sen, who came back from a first-game loss to beat Chinese Taipei’s Wang Tzu Wei in the first round, will next face Malaysia’s Leon Jun Hao in the last eight match on Friday.

Sen and George were the only two Indians progressing to the last eight as four others including the top doubles team of Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty as well as Saina Nehwal crashed out on Thursday (June 1).

Thailand Open 2023: Indian Shuttlers Schedule, Results, Telecast & Live Streaming InfoThailand Open 2023: Indian Shuttlers Schedule, Results, Telecast & Live Streaming Info

While Satwik-Chirag Pair lost to Indonesian pair Muhammad Shohibul Fikri and Bagas Maulana by a scoreline of 26-24, 11-21, 17-21, Nehwal suffered straight games loss to third seed He Bing Jiao of China by a scoreline of 11-21, 14-21.

On the other hand, in another women’s singles match, Ashmita Chaliha suffered a defeat against Spain’s badminton star Carolina Marin also via a straight games 18-21, 13-21.

Earlier on Wednesday (May 31), India’s top stars PV Sindhu and Kidambi Srikanth suffered first round exits. Sindhu was outplayed by Canada’s Michelle Li 8-21, 21-18, 18-21, while Srikanth lost to Weng by a scoreline of 8-21, 21-16, 14-21.

Source link

Leave a Comment