WTC Final 2023: There will be mixed opinions, but correct decision was made – Ponting on Green’s catch

Gill edged one off Scott Boland and the ball flew low to the left of Green at gully, who scooped it inches from the ground and immediately celebrated the dismissal, as India were rocked early in the chase of 444 on Saturday (June 10).

Ricky Ponting on Cameron Greens catch to dismiss Shubman Gill (Image Courtesy: PTI/@ICC Twitter)

Ricky Ponting on Cameron Green’s catch to dismiss Shubman Gill (Image Courtesy: PTI/@ICC Twitter)

While the Indian opener stood his ground, the decision was taken by third umpire Richard Kettleborough against the batter with India captain Rohit Sharma screaming “no” in despair followed by chants of ‘cheat, cheat’ across the stands at The Oval in London.

Ponting reckoned the catch taken by all-rounder had the ball touching the ground at one point, but credited the third umpire for taking the “correct decision” during the fourth day’s play of the WTC Final.

“When I saw it live, I knew it had carried to him on the full, but I wasn’t sure what the action was after that from all replays we have seen,” Ponting told the ICC.

“I actually think some part of the ball did touch the ground and it is the interpretation of the umpire that as long as the fielder has complete control of the ball before the ball hits the ground then it is out. That must have been what the umpires’ interpretation was and I think that is exactly what happened,” he said.

After the day’s play, Gill took to social media to express his anger at the decision, while Green said he had taken the catch cleanly. The decision earned a lot of flak from ones in the stadium and on Social Media.

WTC Final 2023: Shubman Gill tweets after controversial dismissal on Day 4WTC Final 2023: Shubman Gill tweets after controversial dismissal on Day 4

India pace spearhead Mohammed Shami also joined those criticising the decision, saying the umpires should have taken more time to deliberate since it is a WTC final.

Ponting echoed former Australia coach Justin Langer’s opinion that there would be mixed opinions on the decision. “It carried probably six or eight inches off the ground then there was another action after that.”

“There will be a lot of talk about it I am sure and there will probably be more talk in India than in Australia, Everyone in India will think it is not out and everyone in Australia will think it is out.”

“If it had have been given out on the field then I think the third umpire has to find conclusive evidence to overturn that decision and I don’t think there would have been conclusive evidence,” said Ponting.

The soft signal, which was removed from the playing conditions ahead of the final, could have gone in India’s favour if the on-field umpires had signalled it not-out to the TV umpire. But Ponting said even the soft signal wouldn’t have mattered.

“The reason I am saying that is, even without the soft signal, the third umpire thought it was out. At the end of the day I think the correct decision has probably been made.

“I was happy for that soft signal to be taken out of the game…I think there was too many of those that seemed irrelevant,” Ponting said.

Cameron Green defiant as Shubman Gill puts catch under the magnifying glassCameron Green defiant as Shubman Gill puts catch under the magnifying glass

“Everyone will say now that without the soft signal it is going to what technology can see and technology can provide, but at the end of the day it is still the third umpire making the decision on what he can see,” he added.

India will resume their chase from an overnight score of 164/3 with Virat Kohli (44*) and Ajinkya Rahane (20*) unbeaten in the middle. The duo will hope for support from the rest of the batters as they look to pull off a historic chase on day 5.

(With PTI inputs)

Source link

Leave a Comment